top of page

Pesto Chicken Penne

Lately when it comes to dinner, I've been trying to find recipes that are simple and easy but taste just as good as if it took you hours to make. With Zack traveling a lot for work these past couple months and me going back to work, my window of time to cook dinner is typically during Abe's second nap. So that usually means I have about 2-3 hours to cook dinner and eat it. Efficiency has become my best friend as of late. Dinner has also become a little more complicated because I am on a dairy free diet. Not to loose any weight but because I think Abe has a mild sensitivity to it. Tragic I know, I've had to say see you later to so many of the foods I love, especially cheese. So I was so excited when I found this pasta dish! I changed it up a little bit to give it a little more flavor but I'm sure it would have been good either way.

1lb chicken breast cut up in to bite size pieces

1/2 box of penne pasta cooked according to package

1 tblsp olive oil

1 tblsp Italian seasoning

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

1 clove minced garlic

3/4 cup basil pesto

Cook the pasta according to the box.

While the pasta is cooking heat oil in large skillet over medium-high heat for about 2 minutes. Then add chicken, Italian seasoning, garlic, pepper, and salt and heat until chicken is cooked through. Remove from heat and add in the cooked pasta and pesto. Toss to coat. Serve by itself or with a side, I ate it alone but I'm sure it would great with a roasted veggie!

Now if you're anything like me, making dinner and having a glass of wine pretty much go hand in hand. This dish especially was the perfect one to pair with a delicious red wine. Oliver's soft red is one of my personal favorites. I also am super weird and listened to Christmas music while making this. Don't judge, my tree will be up shortly!

I hope you enjoy this pasta if you decide to make it, I know I did!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page