top of page

Our Babe Abe

About this time last year I found out I was pregnant. While this wasn't a "planned" pregnancy, my husband Zack and I were still extremely excited. From the get go I had probably the easiest pregnancy known to man. I never got sick, never really felt tired, and only gained about 40 pounds total. We knew that we would have a big baby considering I weighed 9lbs 3oz when I was born and Zack weighed 8lbs 1oz almost a month early. I don't think we really anticipated just how big he actually would be though. From about 20 weeks on I consistently measured 1 week ahead, but once I hit about 37 weeks I started to measure 2 weeks ahead and by my 39 week check up I measured 4 whopping weeks ahead. This kid was clearly growing too rapidly for me to keep up with! At that point the doctors advised a growth scan just to see how big he actually was and then decide what action should be taken. At the ultrasound they estimated his weight at 9lbs 15oz, and quickly suggested we schedule a c-section to ensure his safety and mine as well. So we took their advice and planned it for just a week later.

On June 23rd we checked in to the hospital knowing we were there to have a baby and it was the best feeling ever. At 3:19pm our precious Abraham Timothy entered this world weighing in at 9lbs 15oz and 21 1/2 inches! I think I can speak for both Zack and myself that at the moment he was born it was instant love and euphoria. It wasn't the birth I had envisioned, but in the end I didn't care how he got here just as long as he was healthy and safe. The c-section was honestly not nearly as bad as I thought it was going to be. I recovered pretty quickly considering and felt normal almost immediately.

Aside from having a tongue tie, Abe has been the perfect baby. He has slept well from the very beginning and now at 4 months sleeps all the way through the night 8-9 hours! I went back to work about a month ago and he has done so well staying home with Daddy and occasionally my mom when Zack has to travel for work. We are loving this journey into parenthood and Abe has made us both better people. Our family of 3 is so much better than we ever could have expected.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page